Middle East
GDN Online App available on
App Store / Play Store
Gulf Daily News Gulf Daily News
Gulf Daily News Gulf Daily News Gulf Daily News Gulf Daily News Gulf Daily News
Friday, February 22, 2019 ARCHIVES  |  SEARCH  |  POST ADS  |  ADVERTISE  |  SUBSCRIBE   |  LOGIN   |  CONTACT US

Brazil fighters dominate Brave 15

Other Sports
Sun, 09 Sep 2018

BRAVE Combat Federation, under the leadership of Shaikh Khalid bin Hamad Al Khalifa, hosted the first ever global mixed martial arts event in Colombia.

The event - Brave 15 - was held at the Coliseo Bicentenario in Bucaramanga, Colombia.

The event featured fighters from Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Peru and Mexico.

Six of the seven bouts finished in the very first round. Brazil dominated the fight card winning all the seven fights.

Godofredo Pepey won the main event with a ‘submission’ against UFC’s Alexander Torres.

In the co-main event, Gabriel Miranda scored his 13th win in his professional career improving the tally of wins by submission to 12.

Noriega was caught in a guillotine with no chance to escape and finally gave up as he tapped out. Cleiton Silva maintained the distance forcing Marcelo Busto to be on the defensive. Silva went for the RNC to capture his second victory.

Ricardo Tirloni proved yet again his dominance with a ruthless performance against Ramon Cardozo.

During round two, Tirloni charged in with huge shots on his way to the takedown. As Cardozo went down, Tirloni wrapped up an anaconda choke to submit Cardozo.

Geraldo Coelho came back from an armbar attempt in the very first round. Coelho connected a pair of right hands followed by a left hook that left Jaime Cordova knocked out.

Colombian regionals champion Diego Otalora was rocked by a leg kick and right hook in the opening minute against Mauricio Reis.

Reis rolled for a leglock that earned an instant scream of submission from the home favourite.

Brave’s next event - Brave 16 - will be held on September 21 at the Mubadala Arena in Abu Dhabi.

Results: Godofredo “Pepey” Castro bt Alex “Rolo” Torres by submission (Armbar) in the first round.

Gabriel Miranda bt Fernando Noriega by submission (Guillotine choke) in the first round.

Cleiton Silva bt Marcelo Bustos by submission (RNC) in the first round.

Ricardo Tirloni bt Ramon Cardozo by submission (Anaconda choke) in the second round.

Geraldo “Luan Santana” bt Jaime “Instinto” Cordova by knock out in the first round.

Mauricio Reis bt Mauricio Otalora by submission (foot lock) in the first round.

Eduardo Garvon bt Matias Juarez by submission (RNC) in the first round.

You Might Like