Middle East
GDN Online App available on
App Store / Play Store
Gulf Daily News Gulf Daily News
Gulf Daily News Gulf Daily News Gulf Daily News Gulf Daily News Gulf Daily News
Saturday, February 23, 2019 ARCHIVES  |  SEARCH  |  POST ADS  |  ADVERTISE  |  SUBSCRIBE   |  LOGIN   |  CONTACT US

Chimaev stars at Brave 20 in India

Other Sports
Sun, 23 Dec 2018
GDN Online Desk

KHAMZAT Chimaev of Sweden made short work of Sidney Wheeler of the US in the main event of Bahrain 20 in the southern Indian City of Hyderabad on Friday night.

The event showcased ten professional fights featuring athletes from 11 nations - US, Sweden, New Zealand, Morocco, India, Jordan, Italy, Brazil, England, Indonesia and Afghanistan.

The event marked a major milestone as the Bahrain-based Brave Combat Federation entered into a major business partnership with MTV in India.

Chimaev established his dominance over Wheeler by stopping him with a technical knockout within 35 seconds of the opening round.

In the co-main event, John Brewin of New Zealand went down fighting to Anas Siraj Mounir of Morocco.

The event ended on a disappointing note for Mixed Martial Artists fans in India as none of their fighters could taste success against against their international athletes.

India’s Kantharaj Shankar was knocked out by Jalal Al Daaja of Jordan in the second round while Nelson Paes submitted to an ‘armbar’ against Ali Qaisi of Jordan in the very first round.

In the women’s strawweight bout, Maria Ribeiro shocked the fans beating IMMAF medalist Micol Di Segni.


India’s Angad Bisht and Satya Behuria tasted success in the preliminaries. Rob Beech defeated Mandeep Singh by verbal submission while Farhad Hazratzada and Oloan Silalahi registered TKO against their opponents.

Brave 20 was the first Mixed Martial Arts event in India to be broadcast live on Abu Dhabi Sports. Brave will host its final event of 2018 on Friday at King Abdullah Sports City Indoor Sports Hall in Jeddah.

Results - Main card:

Khamzat Chimaev bt Sidney Wheeler by TKO - Round 1 (0:35).

Anas Siraj Mounir bt John Brewin by unanimous decision.

Jalal Al Daaja bt Kantharaj Shankar by Knockout - Round 2 (2:03).

Maria Ribeiro bt Micol Di Segni by TKO - Round 1 (1:09).

Ali Qaisi bt Nelson Paes by Submission (Armbar) - Round 1 (4:06).


Rob Beech bt Mandeep Singh by Verbal Submission - Round 1 (1:44).

Angad Bisht bt Kushal Vyas by TKO - Round 1 (3:18).

Farhad Hazratzada bt Nidhin Koshy by TKO - Round 2 (0:58).

Oloan Silalahi bt Satendar Bankura by TKO - Round 1 (3:57).

Satya Behuria bt Sarabjit Singh by Submission (Triangle Choke) - Round 3 (1:45)

You Might Like