Middle East
GDN Online App available on
App Store / Play Store
Gulf Daily News Gulf Daily News
Gulf Daily News Gulf Daily News Gulf Daily News Gulf Daily News Gulf Daily News
Monday, January 21, 2019 ARCHIVES  |  SEARCH  |  POST ADS  |  ADVERTISE  |  SUBSCRIBE   |  LOGIN   |  CONTACT US

Bahrain: Indian School triumph

Thu, 09 Jun 2016

Indian School defeated Rest-of-School by 49 runs to win the CBA–BOC Schools Junior Cricket Championship 2016 at Bahrain National Stadium ground. 

Batting first, Indian School set a target of 150 runs for Rest-of-School. Opener Arvin Menezes top scored with a polished 62 while Govind Bingly contributed a patient 22.

In reply, Rest-of-School was restricted to 100 runs.

British School, Indian School, St Christopher’s School, Ibn Al Hytham Islamic School, Al Noor International School, Asian School, New Millennium School, Pakistan School, Pakistan Urdu School and New Horizon School took part in the tournament.

Ibn Al Hyham Islamic School were the second-runners-up.

Executive Director of Sports Affairs at Bahrain Olympic Committee Jaleel Asad was the chief guest. Other dignitaries attending the final included Cricket Bahrain Association president Saleem Elias and CBA treasurer Rizwan Shah.

Individual awards: 

Best batsman: Rishab Ramesh (Rest-of-School). Best bowler: Sachiru (Rest-of-School). Best fielder: Adnan Khan (Indian School). Best wicket-keeper: Limon Raton (Rest-of-School), Only hat-trick: Karan Anand Rawal (Indian School). Five-wicket haul: Karan Anand Rawal (Indian School), Sachiru Ajith (Rest-of-School), Ajith Rohit Raj (Combined School). Promising youngster: Aravind Rajeev (Combined School). Youngest player: Aaryan Koul (10 years). 

Man-of-the-match (losers final): Jaheen Noorul (Ibn Al Hytham). Man-of-the-final: Arvin Menezes (Indian School). Player-of-the-tournament: Sachiru Ajith (Rest-of-School).

You Might Like